I fancy myself an intrepid, if boozy, anthropologist.

So…. my cat died on Sunday.  I know not everyone sees pets in the same way, but this is beyond devastating to me.  When our over-religious neighbors showed up on our doorstep to tell me they had found my cat and he had”passed away” probably ranks up there with the worst moments in my life, and I’m being TOTALLY honest.  I guess he was feeling brave and decided to use the dog door, an unlikely scenario I had nonetheless prepared for.  Our backyard is a FORTRESS.  I made sure of it.  How he got out will probably remain a mystery, unfortunately.

Tres was with me before Pool Boy.  Before Donovan.  Before this new house, before Chicago…. Tres was my ally for years and years and years.

The dog basically belongs to David, despite my best efforts at bribery.  (How many walks and Milk Bones does it take to win the loyalty of a freaking Cocker Spaniel???)  For whatever reason, the kid does too recently.  Donovan will be all wrapped around his daddy and I’ll ask “Can I have a hug, buddy?” and he’ll say “no!  no!  no!!!”  not in a defiant way, but more in a “please for the love of God don’t hurt me!!” type way.  He looks terrified of me!  And I’m the really patient/cuddly one!

But Tres was always on my side.  When Donovan would wake up in the middle of the night, Pool Boy and the dog would sleep through it, but Tres and I would get up.  He’d meow at me when I got up and follow me to go tend to Donovan.  Those times are the most sad now.  Times when I used to have my buddy and now I’m alone.

On the “bright side”, if there is one, Tres was a “special needs cat” and I gave him a very good home.  I realized years ago that people don’t tend to adopt the animals with deformities or injuries (Tres was missing a leg, hence the name.  Uno, Dos, Tres.)  It’s silly really that people care SO much about the appearance of their pets.  The “special needs” pets are the sweetest, in my experience.  I haven’t owned a “normal” animal since my teenage years.

With that said, we’d been planning to get another dog for a while.  Ironically, I recognized how completely devistated we would one day be when Franny (our current dog) died, and I knew we wouldn’t have the heart to get another one after she passed, so I wanted to get one now even though Franny’s still pretty young.  I can never be without a pet!

Since I’m sort of left all alone now, the odd man out from the Pool Boy-Baby-Dog club, I’ve decided that I’M going to get a dog now.  Nothing could ever replace sweet Tres, but it’s just so lonely recently.

Then a friend of mine called – their rescue has a one-eyed Cocker Spaniel.  She looks JUST like the dog we have, only she’s missing her left eye.  We still have a few hurdles to cross – how will she get along with the Cocker spaniel we already have?  How will she deal with Donovan?  She’s coming over to meet us tomorrow.  I really hope things work out…

 The rescue said she’s just the sweetest dog in the world, but she’s fallen victim to “black dog” syndrome.  For whatever reason, black dogs tend to get overlooked at adopt-a-pet’s.  Especially one-eyed black dogs.  I’m an emotional mess, and I’m falling a little bit in love with her just looking at her picture.  She looks like she needs me as much as I need her.

However, if all goes well and we adopt her and she also decides that Pool Boy is the only human in the house worth knowing, I’ll REALLY be upset.  I plan to keep him completely away from her for at least the first month.  MY DOG, DAMMIT!

Wish me luck, everyone.

 

Comments on: "In loving memory of Tres, the best damn cat there ever was." (17)

  1. Sarah – I am so sorry about what happened to Tres. I never understood other people’s connection to their pets until I had one of my own and then two of my own. I would be devastated (!!!) if anything EVER happened to Zuma. And I completely understand what it feels like to sit alone with your pet, YOUR pet, on an easy Saturday afternoon when everyone is gone and the house is dead quiet and you look at them thinking, “Well buddy, it’s just you and me now, huh?” And they walk over to you because they can sense exactly what you need. Poor little Tres. He was a good kitty. Best of luck with the new pooch! Can’t wait to hear all about him! 🙂

    • There are so many things that I assumed I would grow out of when I became an adult. My absurd connection to my pets is one of them, but I’m just as devastated now as I was when I was 8 and my first cat Mr. Whiskers died. I didn’t even realize Tres had gotten out, so when they asked if I had a big black and white cat, I was all cheerful thinking “silly cat must have escaped somehow!” and then they said “He’s passed away” and it was like being punched in the stomach. I wailed and sobbed and spent basically the next 24 hours curled up in a little ball of tears and snot. I will make sure my next pet is immortal. It’s a good thing you still have YEARS and YEARS left with Zuma!!!

      • At least we hope I have years and years left with Zuma. Her mother died of stomach cancer just after 7 years old and her sister died (not sure of what exactly) at 2 years old. You just never know what’s going on in their little bodies. But what a SHOCK to receive that news at your front door. Oh my gosh… that must have been so difficult.

  2. Sarah,

    I loved that kitty more than I have ever loved any kitty that didn’t belong to me. He had such good energry. I cried when I got the news on Sunday night and I teared up at work reading this. I am SO sorry. I had MY best damn cat there ever was (Grady) from age 4 to age 19, and even now (as crazy as it sounds), 11 years later, I think about him and miss him every single day.

    I hope you and this one-eyed pup have happy days ahead. Please keep us updated, and know that David and I are thinking about your boy.

    ❤ ❤ ❤
    Ellie

    • Thanks Ellie 🙂 I’m trying not to get my hopes up about one-eyed-doggy, but deep down I’m already a little attached somehow.

      I’ll totally never forget Tres. He was amazing. We had another cat, Cassidy, when we first moved to Chicago. He was pretty amazing as well! I think these pets are the hardest to lose… the ones that have a connection to your former life, so to speak. Tres and Cassidy saw me through so much! Moving across the country, meeting David, getting married, etc. Having had them beside me through all those milestones, it’s so hard to do ANYTHING it seems like without them in your life.

    • Go hug your kitties for me and tell them you love them!

  3. We had a really big long haired Persian male cat and he would have and did fight with dogs he had no fear, he died with cancer when he was 10.

    Then we got a brother and sister, the female was a lovely tabby, never in and we think someone was feeding her as she never came back one day, the male was an albino he was mad, we woke up one morning to find him dead in the neighbours garden, no cats since then.

    • It’s so lovely having them but then SO hard when you lose them… it’s almost hard to convince yourself it was worth it, isn’t it? But deep down, as much as it hurts now, I’m so glad to have had the past 6+ years with him.

  4. I’m so sorry to hear about your sweet Tres. *hugs*

  5. 😦

    Hey, I don’t know you personally, and this is my first peek at your blog, but I would like to say that I’m sorry for the loss of your kitty.
    I’m a lot like you in that I rescue unwanted animals (from a three-legged hamster to a three-legged polydactyl kitty, both of whom moved faster than regular pets), and I feel pretty depressed when my pets pass on, too.

    Right now I have a guinea pig named Aldora 🙂 she’s squealing as I type this.

    Anyways, I’ve looked at a few of your posts and I like what you write. Keep at it.

    • Thank you 🙂 It’s really sweet of you to stop by and offer your condolences. I also love that you have a 3-legged polydactyl kitty! It almost seems like those 2 traits would cancel each other out 🙂 Hopefully Tres is looking down all happy that another sweet animal has found a good home with us, even though he could never be “replaced”.

      I look forward to checking out your blog as well!

  6. So sorry about your Tres!! 😦

    The other day Ellie wiggled out of her leash in the middle of the street, just as a car had turned the corner, and I had visions of seeing her get hit by a car flashing before my eyes. She froze in place and I picked her up and she was fine, but just the thought sent me into tears and I was weepy the next day… And I’ve only had her for a little over a year!

    • It’s awful!! As much as I love having pets and I can’t imagine EVER being without a pet…. every time I lose one it’s so miserable I can’t help but wonder if it’s all worth it! SO sad!

  7. I’m so, so sorry. As you know, I just lost my girl cat. I’m glad you and your new puppy friend found each other. They can never replace our beloved sidekicks, but it’s nice to have as much love as possible in our lives. Every time I want to break down, I look at the cats that are still with me and I can’t help but smile.

    • Thank you, and again I’m so sorry for the loss of your cat. When the cat before Tres passed, I made a mental note to stop and at least give Tres a quick head scratch every time I started to walk past him so I could comfort myself with that when he eventually passed. I’m glad I did because it was really good to know I took every single opportunity to let him know how loved he was. With that said, go cuddle your kitties for me 🙂

  8. i wondered what the new puppy-age was all about; i was in VT when all this happened. im so sorry! im bawling my peepers out here… *hugs* ive got a few fat cats over the rainbow bridge already who will lead tres to the best belly rubs and cat food trenches till we can go collect them…
    love you, and im thinking of you, and your latest rescue snuggle-master!

Leave a Reply

