I fancy myself an intrepid, if boozy, anthropologist.

My Pride: It is Bruised,

Today I joined Weight Watchers.  No, really.

I tried Atkins, which once worked for me, but I get SO bitter over the huge list of foods that are “forbidden”.

I tried eating as little as humanly possible, which once worked for me, but by the end of the day I was so run down and cranky… I didn’t feel it was fair to Dono and Pool Boy.  (or me, probably)

To be honest, I’m not sure why I was so resistant to the idea of WW.  I have several fabulous, glamorous friends who love it and have had great results.  Still, I don’t picture them when I hear “weight watchers”.  I picture these two:

I feel like my subscription should come with a fanny pack, a minivan and maybe some Kotex in case I pee a little when I sneeze.

Comments on: "My Pride: It is Bruised," (5)

  1. You can do it!

  2. Sarah! You didn’t tell me! This blog is fabulous, but you shouldn’t worry. Weight Watchers is awesome and I think you will really love it. I guess I was lucky, joining with 7 sorority sisters the first time, so I didn’t see it the way you do, but it would have been hard going alone. It’s really not the company it used to be though… It’s young and fun! Just look at J-Hud!

    What meeting are you going to and when? Let me know if you need snacks or books at half price (nothing urgent since I rarely see you). I’d love to answer questions for you too! (To everyone else, so I don’t just seem like a know it all, I work for the company and lost 32 pounds my second time around. Woot!). GOOD LUCK, Sarah!!!!

    Ellie

    • I know I have the total wrong idea and i’m not sure where it comes from! I’m actually probably not going to any meetings because I feel like I don’t spend enough time at home as it is, so I’m doing it sort of online with Nicole! I’m excited. And optimistic! Also, did you see Boris and Sascha got married today???? I’m SO FREAKING EXCITED!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I love those guys!!!

  3. Weight Watchers is AWESOME! I was on it a few years ago and I lost weight. It’s more of a change in lifestyle than a diet. I joined with Dave (he may kill me for posting that) and it certainly helps to have a buddy. I was able to eat what I wanted, but had to watch how much of it I ate. It’s all about portions and not depriving yourself as I saw it. I’ve been thinking about going back on it to get back to my immediate post-baby weight and this may just be the motivation I need!

    The only thing I didn’t like about it were the meetings. I didn’t mind getting weighed in (it held me accountable for my actions the previous week), but I didn’t take anything away from the meetings. Everything they discussed (what to do before eating out, what types of foods to eat more of, etc) seemed very common sense to me. It could’ve been the leader. She was a bit too perky for me.

    • I’m not going to meetings, I’m doing the online version instead. I feel like the meetings might be a fun way to meet people, but I don’t feel like I’m at home enough as it is, you know?

      now that I’ve been on WW for a few days, I’m actually really liking it. Somehow I’ve gotten it in to my head that a “sensible diet” wouldn’t really work for me, only more extreme measures would. Hopefully this all proves me wrong!

Leave a Reply

