I fancy myself an intrepid, if boozy, anthropologist.

A hefty dose of Dono-Drama

Last night, as I was upstairs with Donovan, he rammed the baby gate with his fire-truck-thingy and managed to knock down the gate and go tumbling halfway down the stairs.  TOTAL PANIC for both of us.  I later found the book I had been carrying flung halfway across the living room where I must have thrown it in a fit of melodrama when it all happened.

I ran downstairs and scooped up my wailing, clumsy, toddler and quickly realized he was fine, just spooked.  David, who had heard me shout “OH MY GOD!!!” when it happened had joined me on the stairs asking “are you ok????” repeatedly.  Just as everyone was starting to calm down and realize we had averted disaster, Donovan points to the top of the stairs where his fire truck is rammed through the demolished baby gate and says “OH NO!!” as if to say “look!  Some ass hole tore up the gate and my favorite toy!!”  Yeah, that would be you, turd-o-potamus.

At least that kid is always good for some comic relief.

"I will wreck your shit with my happy little cartooney firetruck."

“I will wreck your shit with my happy little cartooney firetruck.”

Comments on: "A hefty dose of Dono-Drama" (5)

  1. I don’t know if it’s your child or the way you weave your stories about him that I find so … intriguing – either way he needs to keep up the shenanigans so that you will keep up with the stories 🙂

  2. Hi! I love this. I’m also dying to hear the story behind your Blog’s name… I’m sure that deserves a posting of its own. : )
    -Ellie

    • Hahahaha…. there’s not as much to the story as you would think! I had an impulsive, spiteful moment after a brief fling with a Greek man didn’t end the way I had hoped it would. I opened a blog under a different service using that classy little moniker (this was like…. 7 years ago??) and the name stuck. I’ve just used it ever since!

  3. We have that exact. same. firetruck. My youngest got it for his 2nd birthday and it was nearly impossible to peel his behind off it. He loves that silly thing.

    “I see a firetruck, a big red SHINY firetruck…”

Leave a Reply

